Research summary
Research HubWolverine Stack
Clinical — 10 studies
Wolverine Stack is the informal name for a pairing of two peptides: BPC-157 and TB-500, a fragment derived from thymosin beta-4. None of the studies cited here tests the two together; each peptide appears on its own, mostly in animal, cell and small clinical studies.
Updated
Being studied for
- Corneal epithelial defect trials
- Venous leg ulcer studies
- Peptide metabolism and analytics
- Rat ischaemia-reperfusion models
- Acetylcholinesterase inhibition assays
What the research shows
Ten publications are cited, from 2010 to 2026, and none studies BPC-157 and TB-500 in combination. Five concern thymosin beta-4 or TB-500: a phase 1 study in 40 healthy volunteers and a phase 2 trial in 73 patients with venous ulcers (both 2010), a phase 3 trial in 18 patients with neurotrophic keratopathy (2022), a review of work in bacterial keratitis (2023) and a TB-500 metabolism study (2024). Four concern BPC-157: an uncontrolled pilot in interstitial cystitis (2024), and a rat ischaemia-reperfusion study, an enzyme-inhibition study and a narrative review (all 2026). The tenth is a 2026 overview of peptide therapy aimed at clinicians in orthopaedics and sports medicine.
The phase 1 study found full-length thymosin beta-4 well tolerated, with no dose-limiting toxicity. The venous ulcer trial reported on wound closure over three months, and the keratopathy trial reported faster closure of corneal epithelial defects and less ocular discomfort. The metabolism study, working in human serum, enzyme systems and dosed rats, suggested that activity attributed to TB-500 in scratch-wound assays may belong to a breakdown product, Ac-LKKTE, and not to the intact peptide. For BPC-157, the rat study reported lower oxidative stress and inflammation, altered apoptosis and angiogenic activity in skeletal muscle after ischaemia-reperfusion, and the enzyme study found reversible competitive inhibition of acetylcholinesterase, stronger in modified analogues. The cystitis pilot described symptom change in patients who had not responded to pentosan polysulfate. Both 2026 reviews pointed to limited clinical evidence, and one called for rigorous controlled trials.
The thymosin trials used the full-length 43-amino-acid protein, not the TB-500 fragment, and the metabolism study questions whether TB-500 itself is the active form. The phase 3 trial had 18 participants, and the difference on its main endpoint fell short of conventional statistical significance; the phase 2 trial was published only in brief, in conference proceedings, without a full trial report; and the phase 1 study, with 40 people and 14 days of exposure, was too small and brief to reveal rare or late-appearing harms. For BPC-157, the only human data come from an uncontrolled pilot, and the rat findings describe that model alone.
Published Research
Evidence profile
Component evidence only — this formulation has not itself been studied
10 cited publications · 3 primary trials
Wolverine Stack has not itself been studied in the published literature. The studies below examined its individual components and are labelled accordingly: TB-500 (Thymosin Beta-4), BPC-157. Findings belong to the component named on each card, not to this formulation.
Core evidence
The publications most central to understanding this compound.
Thymosin beta 4: A potential novel adjunct treatment for bacterial keratitis
Sosne G et al. · International immunopharmacology · 2023
Reviews thymosin beta 4 as an adjunct in bacterial keratitis, covering the corneal models in which it has been examined and its reported effects on inflammation and repair.
Context: Concerns one ocular indication. It does not generalise to systemic tissue repair.
RGN-259 neurotrophic keratopathy phase III
0.1% RGN-259 (Thymosin ß4) Ophthalmic Solution Promotes Healing and Improves Comfort in Neurotrophic Keratopathy Patients in a Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Masked Phase III Clinical Trial
Sosne G et al. · International journal of molecular sciences · 2022
Population: Patients with Stage 2 or Stage 3 neurotrophic keratopathy and persistent corneal epithelial defects; 10 subjects assigned to the active arm and 8 to placebo
A phase 3 randomised, double-masked, placebo-controlled trial compared a 0.1% thymosin beta-4 ophthalmic solution with vehicle placebo in 18 patients with stage 2 or 3 neurotrophic keratopathy. The investigators measured closure of persistent corneal epithelial defects at four weeks, Mackie classification disease stage, time to closure, patient-reported ocular symptoms and adverse events.
As reported by the study
- Route reported
- Topical ophthalmic solution applied to the eye
- Schedule
- Administered under the trial protocol across a 28-day treatment period, with assessments continuing to day 43; the abstract does not state the daily instillation frequency
- Duration
- 28 days of treatment with follow-up to day 43
- Treatment arms
- 0.1% RGN-259 (thymosin beta-4) ophthalmic solution · Placebo vehicle
“Complete healing occurred after 4 weeks in 6 of the 10 RGN-259-treated subjects and in 1 of the 8 placebo-treated subjects (p = 0.0656), indicating a strong efficacy trend.”
Context: Eighteen subjects in total, so the trial is very small for a phase 3 label and its primary comparison did not reach the conventional significance threshold. It studies the full-length thymosin beta-4 protein applied to the ocular surface, and says nothing about the TB-500 fragment, about injected or systemic administration, or about any tissue outside the cornea.
The effect of thymosin treatment of venous ulcers
Guarnera G et al. · Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences · 2010
Population: 73 randomised patients with venous stasis ulcers of the lower limb, recruited across eight European sites in Italy and Poland
A multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-escalation phase 2 trial randomised 73 patients with venous stasis ulcers to topical thymosin beta-4 or placebo alongside standard ulcer care. The authors assessed safety and tolerability at each dose level and recorded complete wound closure over the study period.
As reported by the study
- Route reported
- Topical application to the ulcer
- Schedule
- Applied under the trial protocol in a sequential dose-escalation design, with dose levels including 0.03%
- Duration
- Healing assessed over approximately three months as reported by the authors
- Treatment arms
- Topical thymosin beta-4 at ascending dose levels, including 0.03% · Placebo
“Efficacy findings from this Phase 2 study suggest that a Tbeta4 dose of 0.03% may have the potential to accelerate wound healing and that complete wound healing can be achieved within 3 months in about 25% of the patients, especially among those whose wounds are small to moderate in size or mild to moderate in severity.”
Context: Reported as a short conference-proceedings summary rather than a full trial report, so randomisation detail, per-arm numbers, comparative closure rates and statistical testing are not presented. Dose-escalation designs spread a small sample across several dose levels, the topical route to an open ulcer is not comparable to injected use, and the product tested is full-length thymosin beta-4, not TB-500.
A randomized, placebo-controlled, single and multiple dose study of intravenous thymosin beta4 in healthy volunteers
Ruff D et al. · Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences · 2010
Population: Healthy adult volunteers in four cohorts of 10 subjects each (40 subjects in total)
A randomised, placebo-controlled phase 1 study gave 40 healthy volunteers ascending single intravenous doses of synthetic thymosin beta-4 (42 to 1260 mg) followed by the same daily dose for 14 days. The investigators recorded treatment-emergent adverse events, dose-limiting toxicity and pharmacokinetic parameters including half-life and dose proportionality.
As reported by the study
- Route reported
- Intravenous
- Schedule
- Under the study protocol each cohort received a single intravenous dose and then, after safety review, the same dose once daily for 14 days
- Duration
- Single dose followed by 14 consecutive daily doses
- Treatment arms
- Synthetic thymosin beta-4 42 mg · Synthetic thymosin beta-4 140 mg · Synthetic thymosin beta-4 420 mg · Synthetic thymosin beta-4 1260 mg · Placebo
“Synthetic Tbeta4 given intravenously as a single dose or in multiple daily doses for 14 days over a dose range of 42-1260 mg was well tolerated with no evidence of dose limiting toxicity.”
Context: A first-in-human tolerability and pharmacokinetic study in healthy volunteers with no disease endpoint and no efficacy measure; 40 subjects and 14 days of exposure cannot characterise uncommon or delayed harms. It uses the full-length 43-amino-acid protein given intravenously, so its pharmacokinetics do not transfer to the TB-500 fragment or to subcutaneous or intramuscular use.
Injectable Peptide Therapy: A Primer for Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Physicians
Mayfield CK et al. · The American journal of sports medicine · 2026
A review of injectable peptide therapy written for orthopaedic and sports medicine practitioners, which examines the evidence base behind BPC-157 and related peptides and characterises how far it supports clinical use.
“While peptide therapy may possess significant therapeutic and regenerative potential, it is critical that orthopaedic and sports medicine providers understand the current lack of evidence to support the clinical use of these peptides.”
Context: A review, not new evidence. It is featured because it describes the size and quality of the evidence base.
From Regeneration to Analgesia: The Role of BPC-157 in Tissue Repair and Pain Management
Yuan C et al. · International journal of molecular sciences · 2026
Reviews the published BPC-157 literature across tissue repair and pain models, covering reported mechanisms alongside preparation standards, clinical validation and regulatory constraints.
“BPC-157 remains a promising candidate for regenerative medicine, yet comprehensive evaluation is required before clinical translation can be recommended.”
Context: Reviews a largely preclinical literature and adds no human data.
Simultaneous quantification of TB-500 and its metabolites in in-vitro experiments and rats by UHPLC-Q-Exactive orbitrap MS/MS and their screening by wound healing activities in-vitro
Rahaman KA et al. · Journal of chromatography. B, Analytical technologies in the biomedical and life sciences · 2024
Population: Human serum and isolated in-vitro enzyme systems, cultured fibroblasts, and rats dosed with TB-500 with urine collected over time
This study developed and validated a mass-spectrometry method to quantify TB-500 and its breakdown products simultaneously, then tracked its metabolism in human serum, in isolated enzyme systems and in the urine of dosed rats. The authors separately compared the parent peptide and each identified metabolite in fibroblast cytotoxicity and scratch-wound migration assays.
As reported by the study
- Route reported
- TB-500 administered to rats with urine sampled thereafter; the abstract does not state the administration route
- Schedule
- Rat urine collected under the study protocol from 0-6 hours and out to 72 hours after dosing
- Duration
- Metabolite sampling to 72 hours
- Treatment arms
- TB-500 (Ac-LKKTETQ) parent peptide · Identified metabolites including Ac-LK, Ac-LKK and Ac-LKKTE · Untreated control (in-vitro assays)
“The study found that Ac-LK was the primary metabolite with the highest concentration in rats at 0-6 h intervals.”
Context: Entirely analytical and preclinical: the biological readout is a cultured-cell scratch assay, not a wound in a living animal or person, and there is no human pharmacokinetic data. The authors explicitly frame their own metabolite finding as a challenge to the assumption that the parent peptide is the active species, which is a hypothesis raised by this work rather than a settled question.
Supporting evidence
Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study
Lee E et al. · Alternative therapies in health and medicine · 2024
Population: Patients with moderate to severe interstitial cystitis not responding to pentosan polysulfate
A small uncontrolled pilot administering BPC-157 into the bladder and reporting symptom change. One of very few human reports involving this compound.
Context: A pilot with no control arm and few participants, in one clinical context. It cannot establish an effect and does not generalise.
Protective effects of BPC 157 in rats with experimentally induced lower extremity ischemia-reperfusion injury
Yıldırım AK et al. · Scientific reports · 2026
Population: Rat model of lower-limb ischaemia-reperfusion injury
An animal study measuring oxidative stress, apoptosis, inflammation and angiogenesis markers in skeletal muscle after induced ischaemia-reperfusion injury.
Context: A rodent model. The findings describe that model and do not transfer to humans.
Additional indexed literature (1)
- Preclinical · Mechanistic study· Evidence for BPC-157BPC-157 and Its Novel Hybrid Analogs as Inhibitors of Acetylcholinesterase
Jelińska J et al. · International journal of molecular sciences · 2026 · PMID 42278509
Published studies summarised here concern the specific investigational or pharmaceutical materials and study conditions described by their authors. Their findings are not performance claims for Cobalt Peptides material. Citations verified against PubMed on 2026-09-29.
The studies summarised here are research reports; nothing on this page is guidance on use in people or animals.
Notice
All information on this page is provided strictly for laboratory research and educational purposes only.